Do you self-sabotage?

Hi, my name is Imogen and I am a self-sabotaging photographer.

Signs you are a self-sabotaging photographer:

–         Over planning destinations to photograph

–         Saving images from google and award winning landscape photographer’s websites and basing your trips around these stunning locations regardless of impracticality

Effects of self-sabotage:

–         Being angry when conditions are not the same when you arrive as said award winning landscape photographer’s photos

–         Leaving a place feeling deflated and disappointed you didn’t get the shots you wanted

–         Perhaps shedding a tear when the extended hours of sunrise photography have worn you out and you STILL haven’t seen colour in the sky and probably never will

–         Frustration explaining to non-photographers why your trip was ruined

This is me.

I have done this possibly for every trip I have been on since 2010 when I joined forces with my Canon DSLR. It is disgraceful…completely unreasonable and absolutely impossible NOT TO DO. I simply must do it.

My main fear is that I have not researched the best positions for sunrise and sunset photography and therefore will be unprepared on arrival at an unfamiliar destination but I take it too far. TOO FAR. I delight in self-sabotage and the need to stunt my creativity in finding unique vantage points and compositions and it is truly disgusting that I continue to do this to myself.

My main reason for this post is that I am planning a photographic journey through Western Australia’s Karijini National Park and this park is so huge with 7 wonderful gorges to explore that I simply HAD to know which ones were best due to time constraints on the visit. This, you think, is a good idea – I should know where to visit first and where the best sunset vantage points are and good sunrise locations and, and, and…. And should I? Or…..should I leave it up to chance, be a true explorer and just follow the light? I believe this is called “winging it” and is a term I have always been 100% uncomfortable with when applied to photography. But I think it’s time I stepped outside my comfort zone and left my OCD fears behind me. Karijini will supply the goods I’m sure of it.

Posts of Karijini to follow upon my return. 

..Wow that was a really long boring post for people who are not me to read. I can only assume that you stopped after the first sentence and deleted your subscription. To those of you who read the whole thing… you deserve medals. 

7 thoughts on “Do you self-sabotage?

  1. Well I don’t know about anyone else but I thoroughly enjoyed this read. I’m all for a bit of photographic research but there’s something to be said for finding your own places and enjoying the ride! I know you will come home with masterpieces and that’s because I know you don’t have to try hard to get them. x

      • You might feel the pressure but who said that’s a bad thing?! It surely inspires you to constantly critique your work and look for that something special to make your photos epic. You think outside the box anyway, you have an eye that allows you to see everything in frames, and you don’t forget to look backwards! All I can say is be fearless and believe in yourself and your amazing ability. ….how’s that for a pep talk?! 🙂

  2. Don’t feel bad about studying, you might only ever get to go once! I have found that with some nature photos though, you really do just have to capture the moment that arises else you really will go mad trying to make it happen. I lost an entire season of wildflower photos last spring as it was just too wet and windy to capture anything without completely changing my style. That was tough. =(

Leave a Reply

